I love May Day baskets. I was first introduced to this tradition of leaving baskets filled with flowers (or goodies!) a few years ago by a friend, who every year delivered an anonymous basket to friends and family on May 1st. I started making these flower bookmarks to fill some tiny May Day baskets for my daughters’ teachers, and ended up making a larger quantity to share with my young women. I realized they were a perfect incentive to go with our May personal progress value – Knowledge.

I glued a variety of different types of silk and paper flowers on jumbo colored craft sticks – each with a touch of green – handy since this value is associated with that color.

They are so pretty peeking out of a book! A lovely touch of spring.

These are the individual paper cone baskets I made for my daughters to give to their teachers. They wrote a little note of appreciation which we scrolled, tied with ribbon and added to the basket along with a little leftover Easter grass.

